Stop Child sexual abuse,

Photos of Candle light vigil against child sexual abuse on Christmas day in Town hall at 6.30pm On Christmas day, December 25th, from women’s and human rights organisations across the city came stand with on the steps of Town Hall, Bangalore from 6.30PM to 7.30PM.

Stop Child sexual abuse, 1157465_239959329499063_368574388_n 1508134_239964872831842_2133005857_n 1510690_239975569497439_1353006517_n 1524563_239966519498344_451215139_n 1532054_239973992830930_1970607237_n 1544431_239967499498246_175141503_n

I am a child

yearning for Justice

I thank you for taking this time to listen to my voice, and to hear my deep cry.

I stand as the voice of all those children who have faced sexual abuse in their lives

I speak for the children whose lives are marred because of violence against our bodies; our spirit

My future stands blurred because the memory of violence follows like a shadow over my head.

I am the child who faced violence at the hands of one, who I trusted and loved,

Who stood before me as a strong ground, and as one on whom I very much depended on to teach what is right and wrong,

I could not cry out against him as he was my own father, one whom others also loved…

I did not know how to differentiate between what is acceptable and what cannot be pardoned.

The pain of the abuse that I experienced repeatedly in secret came to the fore one fine day

When my plea “please don’t hurt me there” was once again drowned in the loudness of my own cry…

I could bear it no longer and wondered if I would survive to share this horror story

Of a scarred body and spirit – only three and a half years old – to which you could add a decade to every year!

Listen friends; I speak to each one of you who stand here today: the choice that YOU have

To either address my pain and divide it … or multiply it by your stunning silence, passivity, and ignorance

Do you know there are thousands like me who want their beloved society to understand…

That the scales of justice would work better, if only it would listen to the truth of our experience?

If I have gathered courage to speak today against all forms of violence against children, especially sexual abuse

It is because I believe that human beings can change for the better and realize their utter common oneness.

If Christmas day is celebrated as the day when Jesus the Christ child was born into this world to bring peace

We, as children, need your help, partnership and support to usher in new ways of building a Just Community.

  • Letter of a Child yearning for Justice

Written with the support of a large network of People’s / Women’s Movements including Vimochana, Praja Rajakiya Vedike (PRV), All India Progressive Women’s Association (AIPWA), Aneka, Bangalore Birth Network, FeministsIndia, Jana Vikasa, Jeeva, Karnataka Sex Workers Union (KSWU), Karnataka Sexual Minorities Forum (KSMF), Samara, Secularism Is A Women’s Issue – international network, Siloam Girls Boarding Home, South Asia Citizens Web, Swaraj Network, Student Christian Movement of India (SCMI), UTC Women’s Studies Department, Women’s Initiative for Citizenship and Universal Rights and many others

About Jeeva

Jeeva was registered on 5th November 2012 as a Trust its purpose and focus was on addressing issues around mental health, livelihood and community media for sexual minorities in Karnataka.
This entry was posted in Activities. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

